RESEARCH

Evaluation of the information content of a new diagnostic method based on an artificial neural network to determine the stage of liver fibrosis in patients with chronic viral hepatitis C

Authors: V.V. Tsvetkov, I.I. Tokin, A.Yu. Kovelenov, S.A. Pozdnyakova.

Aim. To evaluate the informative value of the new diagnostic method "FP Test" version 1.0 to determine the 3-4 stage of liver fibrosis in patients with chronic viral hepatitis C.

Materials and methods. A new diagnostic method "FP Test" is developed on the basis of an artificial neural network using deep learning technologies. To form the training and test samples, 809 patients with chronic viral hepatitis C were included in the study. 291 patients were randomly selected in the training sample and 76 patients in the test sample. As a standard method for diagnosing the stage of liver fibrosis according to the Metavir scale, all patients in the test sample underwent a liver biopsy. Liver fibrosis of stage 0–2 was detected in 51.32% of patients in the test sample, liver fibrosis of stage 3-4 was found in 48.68% of patients. To conduct a comparative assessment of the information content of minimally invasive tests, the APRI and FIB – 4 indices were calculated.

Results. The accuracy of the FP Test version 1.0 method for diagnosing stage 3-4 liver fibrosis was 78.95%, sensitivity - 70.27%, specificity - 87.18%. The informative indices of calculated indices for detecting liver fibrosis of stages 3-4 were: APRI (accuracy - 68.42%, sensitivity - 54.05%, specificity - 82.05%), FIB – 4 (accuracy - 75.00%, sensitivity - 67.58%, specificity - 82.05%). The values ​​of the area under the ROC – curve for the classification of patients depending on the presence or absence of stage 3–4 liver fibrosis were: “FP Test” version 1.0 (AUC = 0.77), APRI (AUC = 0.77), FIB – 4 ( AUC = 0.81).

Conclusion. The new diagnostic method "FP Test" is a simple, affordable and informative test for determining stage 3-4 liver fibrosis in patients with chronic viral hepatitis C.



Evaluation of the information content of the new diagnostic method "FP Test" to determine the degree of hepatitis activity in patients with chronic HCV infection

Authors: V.V. Tsvetkov, I.I. Tokin, A.Yu. Kovelenov, S.A. Pozdnyakova

Aim. To evaluate the informative value of the new diagnostic method “FP Test” version 1.0 to determine moderate / severe hepatitis activity in patients with chronic HCV infection.

Materials and methods. The study included 304 patients with chronic HCV infection. 184 patients were randomly selected into the training sample, 120 patients into the test sample. As a standard method for diagnosing hepatitis activity, a puncture biopsy of the liver was performed in all patients with the calculation of the histological activity index according to the Knodell scale. Minimum / low degree of hepatitis activity (HAI 0–8 points) was detected in 46.38% of patients, moderate / severe hepatitis activity (HAI 9–18 points) in 53.62% of patients.

Results. The accuracy of the FP Test version 1.0 method for diagnosing moderate / severe hepatitis activity was 79.17%, sensitivity - 78.46%, specificity - 80.00%. The values ​​of the area under the ROC – curve for classifying patients depending on the presence or absence of moderate / severe hepatitis activity were: “FP Test” version 1.0 (AUC = 0.84, cut-off value = 0.52), determination of ALT level ( AUC = 0.74, cut-off value = 61.40 U / L), determination of AST level (AUC = 0.76, cut-off value = 39.00 U / L).

Conclusion. The new diagnostic method "FP Test" is a simple, affordable and informative test to determine moderate / severe hepatitis activity in patients with chronic HCV infection.

© fptest.ru, 2019-2020
The results of the study should be evaluated by a specialist doctor taking into account other results of the clinical and laboratory examination of the patient.

ИССЛЕДОВАНИЯ

Оценка информативности нового диагностического метода на основе искусственной нейронной сети для определения стадии фиброза печени у пациентов с хроническим вирусным гепатитом С

Авторы: В.В. Цветков, И.И. Токин, А.Ю. Ковеленов, С.А. Позднякова.

Цель. Провести оценку показателей информативности нового метода диагностики «ФП Тест» версии 1.0 для определения 3–4 стадии фиброза печени у пациентов с хроническим вирусным гепатитом С.

Материалы и методы. Новый метод диагностики «ФП Тест» разработан на основе искусственной нейронной сети с использованием технологий глубокого обучения. Для формирования обучающей и тестовой выборок в исследование было включено 809 пациентов с хроническим вирусным гепатитом С. В обучающую выборку случайным образом был отобран 291 пациент, в тестовую — 76 пациентов. В качестве стандартного метода диагностики стадии фиброза печени по шкале Metavir всем пациентам тестовой выборки проводилась пункционная биопсия печени. Фиброз печени 0–2 стадии был выявлен у 51,32 % больных тестовой выборки, фиброз печени 3–4 стадии — у 48,68 % пациентов. Для проведения сравнительной оценки информативности малоинвазивных тестов проводился расчет индексов APRI и FIB–4.

Результаты. Точность метода «ФП Тест» версии 1.0 для диагностики 3–4 стадии фиброза печени составила 78,95 %, чувствительность — 70,27 %, специфичность — 87,18 %. Показатели информативности расчетных индексов для выявления фиброза печени 3–4 стадии составили: APRI (точность — 68,42 %, чувствительность — 54,05 %, специфичность — 82,05 %), FIB–4 (точность — 75,00 %, чувствительность — 67,58 %, специфичность — 82,05 %). Значения площади под ROC–кривой для классификации пациентов в зависимости от наличия или отсутствия фиброза печени 3–4 стадии составили: «ФП Тест» версии 1.0 (AUC = 0,77), APRI (AUC = 0,77), FIB–4 (AUC = 0,81).

Заключение. Новый диагностический метод «ФП Тест» является простым, доступным и информативным тестом для определения фиброза печени 3–4 стадий у пациентов с хроническим вирусным гепатитом С.



Оценка информативности нового диагностического метода «ФП Тест» для определения степени активности гепатита у пациентов с хронической HCV–инфекцией

Авторы: В.В. Цветков, И.И. Токин, А.Ю. Ковеленов, С.А. Позднякова

Цель. Провести оценку показателей информативности нового метода диагностики «ФП Тест» версии 1.0 для определения умеренной/тяжелой степени активности гепатита у пациентов с хронической HCV–инфекцией.

Материалы и методы. В исследование включено 304 больных хронической HCV–инфекцией. В обучающую выборку случайным образом было отобрано 184 пациента, в тестовую — 120 пациентов. В качестве стандартного метода диагностики активности гепатита всем пациентам проводилась пункционная биопсия печени с расчетом индекса гистологической активности по шкале Knodell. Минимальная/низкая степень активности гепатита (ИГА 0–8 баллов) была выявлена у 46,38 % больных, умеренная/тяжелая степень активности гепатита (ИГА 9–18 баллов) — у 53,62 % пациентов.

Результаты. Точность метода «ФП Тест» версии 1.0 для диагностики умеренной/тяжелой степени активности гепатита составила 79,17 %, чувствительность — 78,46 %, специфичность — 80,00 %. Значения площади под ROC–кривой для классификации пациентов в зависимости от наличия или отсутствия умеренной/тяжелой степени активности гепатита составили: «ФП Тест» версии 1.0 (AUC = 0,84, cut-off value = 0,52), определение уровня АЛТ (AUC = 0,74, cut-off value = 61,40 Ед / л), определение уровня АСТ (AUC = 0,76, cut-off value = 39,00 Ед / л).

Заключение. Новый диагностический метод «ФП Тест» является простым, доступным и информативным тестом для определения умеренной/тяжелой степени активности гепатита у пациентов с хронической HCV–инфекцией.

© fptest.ru, 2019-2020
Результаты исследования ФП Тест должны оцениваться врачом-специалистом с учетом других результатов клинико-лабораторного обследования пациента.